top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnonymous

Wednesday - 22nd April, 2020.

Updated: Apr 24, 2020

I woke up today at one in the morning like every other day since the lockdown and lost myself to a different realm where I could be a warrior queen, a witch or a spy through books, movies, and series. I have numbed myself of the real world to the point where I never know the time or date until I have an assignment due the next day. The clouds today are perfect; fluffy, white and so big you could picture a castle nestled in between the cluster of shadows. It is on days like this I miss my friends the most.


This virus has scattered us all in the wind, there was barely enough time to say goodbye and I fear it will be the last time I will ever see these amazing and beautiful people I have met at University. The News filled to the brim of articles about COVID-19 that tell us everything and yet absolutely nothing keeping us in constant fear. It hurts to even look at news of Americans ever since Bernie pulled out of the presidential campaign, as Trump tells the nation everything is fine, and more cases pile up. There are so many nations that are doing everything they can to take care of their people while I fear America’s incompetent president is doing very little, that I am terrified for my brother and sister’s family living there.


However, the places I fear the most are the nations where there are people who live below the poverty line, where governments don’t have a safety net for people that will lose their jobs. They will either starve to death or die of the virus. Lockdown may not be the best decision since a vast majority cannot work from home and many people house entire families in one room, or worse, don’t have a home at all. This virus will hit the poorest the worst. All I can do is pray from them.

 

By Chloe Lumbao,

London, United Kingdom.

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page