top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnonymous

Thursday - 23rd April, 2020.

Days and nights are all jumbled together. Can’t even configure what day of the week it is or how many days since the quarantine started. Everything feels gloomy and dull with nothing to do, I feel lazy and depressed. My eyes that used to flutter open at the peak of dawn with the birds chirping near the window, now remain heavy and shut until two or three in the afternoon.

I used to be the person whose OCD would kick in, making sure everything was neat and tidy but now everything remains scattered or out of place judging me while piled up in nooks and crooks of the room. Not meeting or hanging out with friends, going out with cousins and siblings, or just ordering takeaways has brought a huge toll on my mood and mental state.

Woke up today with a heavy heart knowing very well that I would yet again be stuck at home, doing house chores which I dislike or just lie in bed scrolling through my phone that has stopped entertaining me now. I was met with seven lectures and 2 assignments both due in the next six hours. I scurried to get both done, cursing out at the online system and the headaches it caused but deep down I was thankful as it kept my mind off things.


Once done I decided to get some baking done, I was beyond ecstatic when the cake came out almost perfect even though being my lazy self I had not followed a recipe. I was happier when my family (I live in a joint family system) all greatly appreciated the dessert.


Decided to watch a movie and, I would highly recommend “miracle in cell no.7” what a sweet Korean movie, even though it had my waterworks going but it was worth watching.

The highlight of the day was when I group chatted with my friends, all laughing and babbling about nonsense things but it was much needed as for some time no one thought about the pandemic or how the world could end anytime.


I just hope that everything goes back to normal soon, the pandemic ends, everyone gets healthy, places open and people become happy and joyful again.

 

By Sarah Nadeem,

Karachi, Pakistan.

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page