top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnonymous

Sunday, 26th April, 2020.

My sleeping pattern has been severely disrupted from a lack of routine. After handing in my dissertation two days ago, it is now the holy month of Ramadhan and I am further driven into being nocturnal. The only sleep I know is the one that is after Suhoor (early breakfast), the only routine that exists here is my body-clock that wakes me up exactly after six hours.

I made some dough yesterday for a new batch of bread. My very first tries on breadmaking were a bit off, probably because I did not wait long enough for my yeast to activate properly. The Youtube videos showed that yeast can be activated with sugar and lukewarm water in five minutes. The reality was that I had to wait for 5 hours for mine to froth up properly, so I’m not sure if it’s my yeast or the Youtube videos that are at fault here.


I divided the batch into two, one for bread and one for beignets. If you have seen Disney’s Princess and the Frog, beignets are the sweet pillow bread that Tiana made for breakfast in the cafe. I think it was in one of the opening act to the New Orleans experience. I have never made it before, but from what I know, any dough that is fried and coated with a sugary topping is bound to be very tasty.




 

By Nibras Balqis,

Canterbury, United Kingdom.

12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page